Air Operations

AOC Certification

The AOC Certification process is designed to ensure that prospective AOC holders understand and are capable of fulfilling this duty satisfactory.

The Certification Process requires five stages.

  • Phase 1- Pre-Application Phase;
  • Phase 2- Formal Application Phase;
  • Phase 3- Document Evaluation Phase;
  • Phase 4- Demonstration and Inspection Phase;
  • Phase 5- Certification Phase.
Pre-Application Phase

This phase is used to evaluate that an applicant has an understanding of the required regulations and for TCICAA to evaluate the nominated Post holders.

A Prospective Operator’s Pre-Assessment Statement Form is than sent to the applicant. The completed form is returned to TCICAA along with the Nominated Post holders Forms.

The applicant must have Knowledge of the follow requirements/regulations;

  • The Air Navigation (OT) Order
  • OTAR 119 Air Operator Certification
  • OTAR 135 Commercial Air Transport Operations-Helicopters and Small Airplanes (<5700kg)
  • OTAS 121 Commercial Air Transport Operations-Large Airplanes (>5,700kg)
  • OTAR 39 Continued Airworthiness Requirements
  • OTAR 43 General Maintenance Requirements
  • OTAR 145 Aircraft Maintenance Organization Approval
  • OTAR 92 Carriage of Dangerous Goods
Formal Application Phase

An applicant applying to the TCICAA for an AOC is require to submit a completed Application Form and all the documentation required by the AOC holder. This includes Operations Manual, Maintenance Manuals, Training Programs, aircraft documentations etc.

The application would not be formally accepted until all required documentation is submitted.

Documentation and Evaluation Phase

After the formal application has been accepted, Inspectors will begin an in-depth evaluation of the documentation. This can take time and will require continuous communications with the operator until the documentation has been approved or accepted.

Demonstration and Inspection Phase
The TCICAA requires an Operator to demonstrate its ability to comply with the regulations and safe operating practices and to operate commercial air transport to an acceptable standard. This involves operational, maintenance and aviation security inspections.
Certification Phase

Once the applicant has met the requirement for certification, it’s their responsibility for continued compliance with the regulations and Operations Specifications.

The issuing of an AOC and Operations Specification will follow with continued oversight by TCICAA. This will include on-site audits by Operations and Airworthiness Inspectors.

Grand Turk Office
Providenciales Office
Quick Links